Dec. 27th, 2013

piplover: (Tea)

I hope everyone had a lovely holiday, and are recovered from all the food and cheer.  :)

Yesterday I spent packing the flat and pacing worriedly as I waited to hear of the papers for the house were ready to be signed.  Not yet, but today.  Now I'm waiting for the call.

My mom came over yesterday to help me pack, which was... helpful. And stressful. I love my mom dearly, but she is very much a person who goes, goes, goes and is very organized and knows exactly what to do and when to do it.  I?  Am not.  I look around my flat and think, "Holy shit, there is so much to do?  What do I do?  Where do I start?"

So it was lovely having her help me box things up, and yet stressful when she started tearing my vacuum apart to clean it. With a toothbrush.  It was dirty, apparently.  Which, in my mind, is kind of what happens to vacuums when you use them?

So, anyway, a good chunk of things got packed, but I still have a ton more to do, and I'm really starting to worry my new house won't have enough storage.  I have a lot of stuff, OK, like, a LOT.  There was a reason I originally wanted a three bedroom.  I currently live in a two bedroom flat that has a hall closet, a linen closet, and two cabinets in the bathroom.  All were filled.  I'll be moving into a house with no hall closet, a very tiny linen closet, and a bathroom with only under the sink storage.  Eep.

But!  I'm hoping I can purchase a storage shed with my tax return, which will help immensely. It's just going to take a while. And in the meantime, I'll have boxes of stuff sitting in the second bedroom, because I won't have room to put them anywhere else.

So, in other words, I'm stressing out, and thinking I have waaayyy to much stuff.  But, unlike my mom, who complained about how many books I have, I don't think a person can ever have too many.  So what if I have over a thousand?  :)  No, no, it's other stuff I have too much of.  I don't really need all those dishes, do I?

Anyway, adventures in house buying continues.  Hopefully I'll be able to move in this weekend, or at least get a start.  It would be nice to be able to move some furniture and a majority of the boxes.

I hope everyone else is doing well.

piplover: (kermit arms)
The papers have been signed!  Unfortunately, though, they weren't signed until about 7:30 this evening. Too late to have them sent to Spokane, where they'll be processed. This means I don't have the keys yet.  I'm hoping the seller will take pity and let me have the keys tomorrow to start cleaning and moving stuff in.  My real estate agent drew up a quick rental agreement, basically absolving the current owner of anything if I start moving in a day or two early.

If they don't agree, then I can start moving in on Monday. After work.  Sigh.

Still... I have most everything done. I just have to take the papers over to the city to get the utilities put in my name, and also contact the cable company to have them switch it over.  My brother, his girlfriend, and a few of my mom's neighbors are going to help me move when I do finally get the keys, so yay!

Things are all coming together, and I'm trying to tell myself this isn't terror, it's excitement!  I'm keeping my fingers crossed that everything works out and this house is worth it.   Wish me luck!

Profile

piplover: (Default)
piplover

February 2022

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios